World Sports Racing Prototypes

The site dedicated to sportscar race results and chassis numbers histories is under construction.

1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 Drivers FFSA GT (info)

FFSA French GT Championship

In 1997 was in France restarted new championship for GT cars. In its first season it was called 'Série F.F.S.A. GT - BPR 1997'. For this first year Patrick Peter ("P" of BPR) was the organizer chosen by the F.F.S.A. At the end of the year he decided to stop this job in order to concetrate his efforts on the GTR Euroseries project. Yet this first season was a successful. Both good and famous drivers were present. Teams come with beautifull cars as Porsche 911 GT2, Ferrari F40, Venturi 600 LM, Helem V6 ( twinturbo powered Renault Spider), VBM 4000 GTC.

Cars were eligible in 4 groups :

FFSA-BPR GT1 : GT1 produced until 1996.

FFSA-BPR GT2 : FIA GT2 & cars more powerful classed as GT2.

FFSA-BPR GT3 : atmo GT2 under 4000 cc.

FFSA-BPR GT4 : cars coming from one type championships as : Porsche 911 Carrera Cup, Ferrari 348 & F355 challenge ...

Championnat de France F.F.S.A. GT 1998

For this second year the series becomes an official french championship. Patrick Peter had gone, Stéphane Ratel (who also organized the FIA GT championship in 1998) boss of SV Organisation took the control of operations.

Several things changed. Cars were eligible in just 3 groups:

GT2 : GT1-FIA in GT2 rules & GT2-FIA.

GT3 : cars coming from one type championship with a weight:power ratio of 1100kg/300hp. (Lamborghini Diablo SV-R, Venturi 400 Trophy, Porsche 993 Supercup...)

GT4 : cars coming from one type championship but less powered. (Ferrari F355 Challenge, Porsche 911 Carrera Cup...)

Presented by WSRP Martin Krejci.
Last update: 15.5.2011